Monday, May 3, 2010

"Those who commit acts of violence are surely responsible for them; they are not dupes or mechanisms of an impersonal social force, but agents with responsibility. On the other hand, these individuals are formed and we would be making a mistake if we reduced their actions to purely self-generated acts of will or symptoms of individual pathology or 'evil.'" (Butler, 15). That quote struck as the type of thing people say when a person commits a violent crime and then blame it on the t.v. show or video games they watch and play. Those arguments always irk me a little, okay a lot. I have played violent video games and have watched violent t.v. shows, but I am not a violent person, except the five years of football and eight plus years of hockey I played. I am not sure this was the point the quote was talking about but it is what I thought about. I feel that if people where that brain washed by video games we would have a lot more plumbers in the world with how popular Mario Brothers are. I just feel that when people use movies, t.v. shows and video games, heck even "Catcher in the Rye" as a reason for a violent act it's a cop out. I read "Catcher in the Rye" and I was excited thinking this book must be great with how "controversial" it is. It was extremely boring! I couldn't believe it. I think that people need to learn how to take responsibility for their actions, that also goes for parents. Parents need to take responsibility for their kids actions. The last is also a thing that bugs me. Parents just plop their kids in front of a t.v. or video game and don't take part in the child's life anymore. I think the main point I am trying to get at is being responsible for ones actions and do not use random things as a reason for ones stupidity.

No comments:

Post a Comment